Schools/Search
HIB

LEGAL DEFINITION OF HARASSMENT, INTIMIDATION OR BULLYING


Definition from NJSA: 18A:37-14: "Harassment, intimidation or bullying" means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents, that is reasonably perceived as being motivated either by any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic, that takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function, on a school bus, or off school grounds as provided for in section 16 of P.L.2010, c.122 (C.18A:37-15.3), that substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students and that:

a. a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student's property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his person or damage to his property;

b. has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students; or

c. creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student's education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

L.2002, c.83, s.2; amended 2007, c.129, s.1; 2010, c.122, s.11.


IN ORDER TO HAVE HIB WE MUST HAVE THE FOLLOWING:
 
1. MOTIVATION: Reasonably perceived as being motivated …by any…distinguishing characteristic AND

2. NEXUS: Substantially disrupted or interfered with orderly operation of school or rights of other students AND

3. HARM: One or more of the following:
a. EXPECTATION OF HARM: Offender knew action would physically or emotionally harm victim or damage victim’s property OR

b. EXPECTATION OF HARM: Victim feared physical or emotional harm or damage to personal property OR

c. ACTUAL HARM: Insulted or demeaned student or group OR

d. ACTUAL HARM: Created hostile educational environment by doing one or both of the following:
                             i.      Interfering with student’s education OR
                            ii.      Severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm


RPS Anti-Bullying Specialist Contact Information 2021-2022

Main Number: 201-670-2700

School(s)

Name 

Email

Phone

Extension

Glen School - Infant Toddler Program

Lisa Kontos

lkontos@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

60502

Glen School - RED, REACH, RISe

Janel Nese

jnese@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

60501

Orchard and Ridge Elementary Schools

Raymond Lavender

rlavender@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

10814

Orchard and Ridge Elementary Schools

Stephanie McAloon

smcaloon@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

10814

Somerville and Willard Elementary Schools

Jane Gerald

jgerald@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

10817

Hawes and Travell Elementary Schools

Susan Fink

sfink@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

10821

Benjamin Franklin Middle School

Marisa Mahoney

mmahoney@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

30555

Benjamin Franklin Middle School

Meagan Papapietro

mpapapietro@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

30559

George Washington Middle School, Monroe House

Lisa Alfuso

lalfuso@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

40556

George Washington Middle School, Godwin House

Michael Mullin

mmullin@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

40557

Ridgewood High School

Steven Bourque

sbourque@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

20568

Ridgewood High School 

Rebecca Turano

rturano@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

20560

Ridgewood High School

Meg Schaefer

mschaefer@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

20569

Ridgewood High School

Meredith Yannone

mlyannone@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

20567

 Phone:
 Phone:
201-670-2700, ext. 40557
201-670-2700, ext. 40557
Ridgewood High School
627 East Ridgewood Avenue
Ridgewood, NJ 0745
Ridgewood High School
627 East Ridgewood Avenue
Ridgewood, NJ 0745