Honors and Awards 2018-2019
Excellence: honors & awards
Posted on 06/18/2019
This is the image for the news article titled Excellence: honors & awards

Eighth grade students from Benjamin Franklin Middle school competed recently in the Bergen County Brain Busters Competition. There were 32 teams competing from 16 middles schools. Second place winners were the BFMS student team of Alex Khalitov, Ryan Cho, Ethan Holden and Tommy Clark. Also participating in the competition were Joonho Oh, Kevin Shen, Sarah Jeong and Zerlina Huang. The student advisor is BFMS Math Teacher Courtney Pfeiffer.

Congratulations to the following Ridgewood High School orchestra students for their acceptance to the 2019 All State High School Orchestras:

Isabel Lee, violin (9)
Ryan Rhew, violin (11)
Eric Baw, violin (9)
Ashley Kim, violin (9)
Daniel Son, viola (11) 
All State Intermediate Orchestra:
David Mo, violin (9)

Here are the 2018-2019 Teacher Recognition Program winners:

Educational Services Professional: Karen Coates
Hawes School: Joseph Staunton
Orchard School: Maria Sullivan
Ridge School: Jill Marmo
Somerville School: Kathryn Droske
Travell School: Dawn Fleming
Willard School: Wesley Halter
Benjamin Franklin Middle School: Lisa Sutera
George Washington Middle School: Vanessa Kabash
Ridgewood High School: Charles Appel


The Ridgewood Teacher Recognition Award Reception will be held at the Education Center on Tuesday, May 7, 2019 at 7 p.m. for the award recipients, their families, school parents, teachers, and friends. Each of the award recipients will receive a stipend of $500 ($250 awarded by the individual Home and School Association and $250 by the Board) for use in their classrooms next year.

Congratulations to BFMS seventh grade violinist Jennifer Jang on winning acceptance into the NJ All State Intermediate Orchestra.

Jason Curcio, BFMS 
Director of Bands and the Jazz Machine, has announced the Region Band selectees for 2019: Annie Skulskaia (Gr. 7, flute), Seung He Rhew (Gr. 8, clarinet,) Jennifer Lee (Gr. 7, clarinet), Eojin Kikm (Gr. 8, clarinet) and Joelle Yoon (Gr. 7, trombone).

Carol Sharar, BFMS Orchestra Director, reports that five string players have won placement into the prestigious Region I Intermediate Orchestra for 2019. They are: Harin Jeong   (Gr. 8, violin), Phillip Bang   (Gr. 8, viola, 1st chair), Jenny Yang  (Gr. 7, violin), Ania Skulskaia  (Gr. 7, violin) and Jenny Jang  (Gr. 7, violin), who in addition also won Silver in the Scholastic Writing Contest.

Justine Kawash, BFMS 
Choral Director Grades 6-8, reports on the Region I auditions: Alexis Rosenfeld (Gr. 7, Alto) and Katarina Burton (Gr. 7, Alto) were selected as members of the Region I 2019 Chorus.

Fourteen RHS band members have been selected through competitive audition to perform in the 2019 All-Bergen County High School Band.  Once again, this is the highest number of students selected from any one school to participate in the 87-piece ensemble.  The All County Band will perform their concert on Sunday, January 13 at Paramus High School.

The RHS students selected for the ensemble are:
Chloe Nam, flute (10)
Meghna Balaraj, flute (12)
Andrea Loo, oboe (10)
Katlyn Tagliabue, bassoon (12)
Annie Duffy, clarinet (12)
Jonathan Lai, clarinet (9)
Jackie Lutz, clarinet (12)
Kieran Corcoran, tenor saxophone (11)*
Emma Matthews, trumpet (11)
Teddy Moll, French horn (11)
Janice Yoon, French horn (10)
Stefanie Haas, trombone (11)
Decklan Spencer, euphonium (10)*
Kyu Hong Kim, euphonium (10)

* Principal (highest score)

On November 3, the RHS Marching Band placed second out of 19 bands at the USBands National Championships Competition, held in Allentown, PA, with a score of 95.8375. The band was also awarded the "Cadets Award of Excellence" in recognition of the band's creativity, performance, overall effect, and professionalism on and off the field.   

 At all-staff Convocation on September 4:

George Washington Middle School Guidance Counselor Michael Mullin was named the 2018 winner of the annual Ashby Award. 

TradofExcelSomerville School custodian Paul Buscher received the annual Tradition of Excellence award.