Schools/Search
Special Programs Staff
Special programs staff

OUR STAFF

A Message from the Office Of Special Programs:

In keeping with a tradition of excellence, Ridgewood Public Schools is committed to serving our diverse learners by providing them with an appropriate education to meet their academic, social, and emotional needs, thus preparing them for life success.  We recognize that there is no one-size-fits-all approach to special education, which is why we offer a diverse array of programs to challenge our students in their least restrictive environment.  Collaboration between home, school, and family cannot be understated, and it is in sharing a common goal for the wellbeing of our students that we are able to maintain this partnership which ultimately benefits our learners.  We are grateful for the community support and resources that enable us to continue to provide an exceptional learning experience for our students, whatever their learning needs may be.

Director of Special Programs

Dr. Michelle Fenwick
Telephone: 201-670-2700 x10545
Email: mfenwick@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

Supervisors of Special Education

Mrs. Janel Nese
Telephone: 201-670-2700 x10557
email: jnese@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

Mrs. Danielle Wood
Telephone: 201-670-2700 x10556

email: dwood@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

A Message from our Special Education Supervisors:

The Ridgewood Public School District is committed to establishing programs that meet the individual needs of various learners.  We are dedicated to developing the “whole-child” with an overall focus on preparing students to function in society and becoming critical thinkers, collaborative workers, and problem solvers.  Students identified with a special education program are provided with equal access to their education which is developed by a team of professionals to maximize their academic success.   The use of differentiation and varied pedagogy is the primary focus in our classrooms to engage students in the learning process.  As the Supervisors of Special Education, we intend to collaborate with all stakeholders in order to provide students with an appropriate learning environment and support system.

Support Staff

Mrs. Patricia Kowalczyk

Administrative Assistant
Telephone: 201-670-2700 x10545
email: pkowalczyk@
ridgewood.k12.nj.us
Fax: 201-670-4290


Ms. Pamela Moyer
Administrative Assistant
Telephone: 201-670-2700 x10544
email: pmoyer@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
Fax: 201-670-4290


Child Study Teams (CST)

Hawes Elementary School

201-670-2720

Kathleen Acosta

Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

kacosta@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10811

Amy Dahn

School Psychologist

adahn@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10812

Jane Gerald

School Social Worker

jgerald@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10817

Patricia Higgins

CST Secretary

phiggins@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 52531


Orchard Elementary School

201-670-2730

Megan Galanti

Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

mgalanti@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10816

Gila Elbaum

School Psychologist

gelbaum@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10815

Stephanie McAloon

School Social Worker

smcaloon@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10814

HaeJin Yook

CST Secretary

hyook@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 53531


Ridge Elementary School

201-670-2740

Laurie Main

Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

lmain@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10813

Gila Elbaum

School Psychologist

gelbaum@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10815

Stephanie McAloon

School Social Worker

smcaloon@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10814

Julianne Brunner

CST Secretary

jbrunner@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 54531


Somerville Elementary School

201-670-2750

Jeanette Nast

Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

jnast@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10818

Amy Dahn

School Psychologist

adahn@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10812

Jane Gerald

School Social Worker

jgerald@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10817

Janet Crocamo

CST Secretary

jcrocamo@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 55532


Travell Elementary School

201-670-2760

Patricia Hegewald

Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

phegewald@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10819

Kate Killby

School Psychologist

kkillby@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10820

Susan Fink

School Social Worker

sfink@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10821

Rosanne Mead

CST Secretary

rmead@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 56531


Willard Elementary School

201-670-2770

Eileen Devaney

Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

edevaney@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10826

Kate Killby

School Psychologist

kkillby@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10820

Susan Fink

School Social Worker

sfink@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10821

Jane Parigi

CST Secretary

jparigi@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 57530


Benjamin Franklin Middle School

201-670-2780

Mariann Gelenius

Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

mgelenius@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10822

Sevana Bohchalian

School Social Worker

sbohchalian@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10823

Terry Caliendo

CST Secretary

tcaliendo@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 30533


George Washington Middle School

201-670-2790

Courtney Weiss-Chromeck

Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

cchromeck@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10825

Jennifer Ajosa

School Psychologist

jajosa@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10824

Lindsey Barclay

CST Secretary

lbarclay@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 40533


Ridgewood High School

201-670-2800

Amanda Valeri

Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

avaleri@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10834

Laura Friedman

Learning Disabilities Teacher Consultant

lfriedman@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10835

Giselle Batista 

School Psychologist

gbatista@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10832

Lisette Alvarez

School Psychologist

lalvarez@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10833

Karen Mellozzo

School Social Worker

kmellozzo@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10831

Judy Tringali

CST Secretary

jtringali@ridgewood.k12.nj.us

x 10830