Schools/Search
HIB

Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying (HIB)


The Ridgewood Public Schools are committed to creating a positive and safe school environment through a robust social-emotional learning curriculum, a comprehensive School-Based Mental Health model, and emphasis on the development of essential characteristics including respect, kindness, and empathy. Various intervention programs and activities teach students the importance of being an upstander, not a bystander. The districtwide Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion initiative further supports the fundamental expectation that all students participate in a learning environment where they find meaning, respect, and acceptance. 

 Ridgewood Board of Education HIB Policy and Regulation 5512

 



HIB District and School Grade Report Cards


The HIB District and School grades are determined through a New Jersey Department of Education self-assessment based upon the measures outlined in the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights. This self-assessment is completed annually by each School Safety Team. 

2019-2020 HIB District and School Grade Report Card



Resources

Guidance for Parents on the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Act

Garden State Equality

Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network

New Jersey Coalition for Bullying Awareness and Prevention



Legal Definition of Harassment, Intimidation or Bullying


Definition from NJSA: 18A:37-14: "Harassment, intimidation or bullying" means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents, that is reasonably perceived as being motivated either by any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic, that takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function, on a school bus, or off school grounds as provided for in section 16 of P.L.2010, c.122 (C.18A:37-15.3), that substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students and that:

a. a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student's property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his person or damage to his property;

b. has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students; or

c. creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student's education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

L.2002, c.83, s.2; amended 2007, c.129, s.1; 2010, c.122, s.11.


IN ORDER TO HAVE HIB WE MUST HAVE THE FOLLOWING:
1. MOTIVATION: Reasonably perceived as being motivated …by any…distinguishing characteristic AND

2. NEXUS: Substantially disrupted or interfered with orderly operation of school or rights of other students AND

3. HARM: One or more of the following:
a. EXPECTATION OF HARM: Offender knew action would physically or emotionally harm victim or damage victim’s property OR

b. EXPECTATION OF HARM: Victim feared physical or emotional harm or damage to personal property OR

c. ACTUAL HARM: Insulted or demeaned student or group OR

d. ACTUAL HARM: Created hostile educational environment by doing one or both of the following:
                             i.      Interfering with student’s education OR
                            ii.      Severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm

 

District Anti-Bullying Coordinator
Stacie Poelstra, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Instruction, and Asessment
spoelstra@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x10532


School Anti-Bullying Specialists
2021-2022


Glen School, Infant Toddler Development Program

Lisa Kontos
lkontos@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x60502

Glen School, RED, REACH, RISe
Janel Nese
jnese@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700. x60501

Hawes Elementary School
Susan Fink
sfink@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x 10821

Orchard Elementary School
Raymond Lavender
rlavender@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x 10814

Stephanie McAloon
smcaloon@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x10814

Ridge Elementary School
Raymond Lavender
rlavender@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x 10814

Stephanie McAloon
smcaloon@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x10814

Somerville Elementary School
Jane Gerald
jgerald@rigewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x10817

Travell Elementary School
Susan Fink
sfink@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x 10821

Willard Elementary School
Jane Gerald
jgerald@rigewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x10817

Benjamin Franklin Middle School
Marisa Mahoney
mmahoney@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x30555

Meagan Papapietro
mpapapietro@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x30559

George Washington Middle School
Lisa Alfuso (Monroe House)
lalfuso@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x40556

Michael Mullin (Godwin House)
mmullin@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x40557

Ridgewood High School
Steven Bourque
sbourque@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x 20568

Rebecca Turano
rturano@ridewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x20560

Meg Schaefer
mschaefer@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x20569

Meredith Yannone 
mlyannone@ridgewood.k12.nj.us
201.670.2700 x 20567